messy ponytail.

Ah, my favourite kind of ponytail.

Too be honest, I don’t really know how many other kinds of ponytails are out there. Sometimes I’ll rock a sleek, low ponytail; other days, a loose, bouncy side ponytail. And that’s about it.

When I discovered the perfect combination for the ultimate messy ponytail, I was pretty damn happy with myself. Actually, happy is a slight understatement – I jumped for joy for about an hour, before setting up a Facebook event for everyone to stop by my place and check out my super hot ‘do. Cocktails and party pies were involved, it was the party of the year.

Slight exaggeration? Maybe. Whatevs.

To start, you need awesome hair. Well that’s not entirely true, my hair is awful and even I can pull this look off. But I ‘awesome’ my hair with my hair’s best friend, the Remington Pearl Straightener. Personally, I love this ponytail with sleek, straight hair. It balances the ratio of messy:chic to perfection.

Next, you need the perfect tools. If a visual kinda person, check it all out below, but these are my top picks:

1. Black hair elastics (Scunci has some great options)
2. John Frieda Frizz-Ease Hairspray
3. TRESemmé Dry Shampoo
4. Paddle brush
5. Slide comb

The reason I suggest dry shampoo is because a messy ponytail can really only be as amazing as I say it can if your hair is a little lived in. Sure, you can go all Zoë Foster on me and dust a little of that ‘magic powder’ she loves so much in there, but really, lived-in hair is lived-in hair.

And you can’t beat lived-in hair. It is heaven.

So, step one… Ruffle up those roots. Really get in there and don’t be shy. Spray a light coat of hairspray (from a height), if the roots are still a little too soft. Using your slide comb, back tease a few sections of the hair where you want some body. Now, here’s the tricky part.

I’m sorry. I should’ve warned you about the tricky part.

Some years ago I discovered my absolute fave ‘BUMP’ section. I thought: ‘heck, Snooki’s got one… so should I!’. So, now is the time to discover yours. I like to part my hair on the right – well, ‘like’ is a stretch, my hair just tells me that is how it’s gonna be! – and so I tend to give a little body to the left-ish side of my head. It just works for me, okay?

Okay, okay.

Use your slide comb to create your bump, and don’t be too fussed about making it look neat and pretty. It’s a messy ponytail, remember? Anyway… now you can use your fingers to comb up your hair into a high ponytail, being sure not to pull too tight. Wrap your elastic around and then loosen up the hair at the top of the head with your fingers a little, to give the hair a bit of life.

Now is the time I like to use my paddle brush. Grab the ponytail at the base, to keep it secure, and brush out the hair so you bring it back to that sleek, chic thing I was rambling about earlier. Sometimes I’ll run my straightener through it again, but obviously you only need to do that if you actually want that dead straight look.

Almost over, don’t worry.

Spritz with a little hairspray and admire yourself (for as long as you want really, I’m not shy about a little self-love) in the mirror. The bump gives you the messy look, every time. And it’s super easy to do.

Don’t forget to make your Facebook event. Trust me, you will want to show that bad boy off.

3 Comments

Filed under beauty, hairstylin', hot, party time

3 responses to “messy ponytail.

  1. I’m going to have to give this a go… My ponytail is either super sleek, random messy bun, or out. A stylish middle ground sounds nice :)

    • It’s so awesome, especially when you are feeling a little lazy (since it’s super easy!) and want a hot, slept-in looking ponytail. I rocked one last night out at Lotus, I’m addicted! XX

Leave a Reply

